Sky

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Calatron, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. Calatron

    Calatron Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm just about move house so I'm going to join Sky but I am looking for a cheap deal does anyone know of any bundles or deals that they are on?
     
    #1
  2. irishgreen

    irishgreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    26
    Just stick a dish on the side of your caravan simples.

    No need for thanks <ok>
     
    #2
  3. Null

    Null Well-Known Member
    Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    34,186
    Likes Received:
    9,756
    #3
  4. thefanwithnoname

    thefanwithnoname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    15,704
    Likes Received:
    3,087
    If you already have a dish on the house then buy a second hand sky box with viewing card for about a £10. There is no monthly payment for this
    Then see what you want and start from there
     
    #4
  5. Glesgabhoy67

    Glesgabhoy67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    13
    They're doing a deal on TV, phone and broadband just now for under £30. but its basic and unless your only online for 5 mins a day youll need to pay the £7.50 to upgrade to unlimited or theyll hit you with a bill.

    It's still not a bad deal though and the broadband is pretty good as long as your in a good caption area. If the house is in the middle of nowhere I would invest in virgin for broadband though.
     
    #5
  6. irishgreen

    irishgreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    26
    Seriously,**** sky.They will give you an unbelievable deal then put your bill up every month without informing you.When you ring up (after listening to music for thirty minutes or so) they will tell you to check your 'sky email account' ****s.

    Buy a good tv with free view and a thing called 'top up tv' that way you can pay to watch what you want to watch.<ok>
     
    #6
  7. shifty

    shifty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^What he said. You get loads of channels without having to subscribe to sky. Of course, if you want the sports channels you'll have to pay fancy prices, and that's guaranteed to go up every year.
     
    #7
  8. Calatron

    Calatron Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers guys just ordered it to be installed next thursday 3 days before I move in £60pm for Sky Sports 1,2,3,4 , News and all ESPN as well as 180 other channels like Sky Atlantic, unlimited broadband which runs at 14mb in my area and phone not too bad but shocked to hear it can take a week to activate your phone and broadband
     
    #8
  9. irishgreen

    irishgreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    26
    60 quid <yikes> Tell them to **** off.
     
    #9
  10. Glesgabhoy67

    Glesgabhoy67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    13
    Longer than a week, I was waiting a month before the broadband and phone went live
     
    #10

  11. thefanwithnoname

    thefanwithnoname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    15,704
    Likes Received:
    3,087
    £60

    thats about £50 too much imo

    If you got broadband then you dont need the tv and sports channels imo
     
    #11
  12. Calatron

    Calatron Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know felt it was stepp but looked at Virgin for same thing and it was £72!!!!
     
    #12
  13. Calatron

    Calatron Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats not what I want to hear, why was that?
     
    #13
  14. - jordan -

    - jordan - Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    18
    sky is alright..but ive noticed over the last couple of months whenever we have a **** load of rain the picture goes down for a few mins
     
    #14
  15. irishgreen

    irishgreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    26
    See my one sane post above.Don't give the ****s 60 quid ffs.
     
    #15
  16. Glesgabhoy67

    Glesgabhoy67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thats just how long they gave me, the BT line was already there but it apparantly takes them ages to get it switched over to a sky line .. and as the broadband runs through it your stuck for both.

    A guy I work with got it at the same time and it only took 3 weeks for him but I was 28 days back when I moved into this flat in July.
     
    #16
  17. Calatron

    Calatron Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't want to but love playing my Xbox on good speed and not gonna have a computer or laptop for 1 month so definatly need Sky
     
    #17
  18. irishgreen

    irishgreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,206
    Likes Received:
    26
    I know **** all about xbox and all that stuff but 60 quid is way too much IMHO. <ok>
     
    #18
  19. thefanwithnoname

    thefanwithnoname Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    15,704
    Likes Received:
    3,087
    be careful of the set up fees too. BT do a £124 charge just to activate an existing line these days
    You dont always hear all this till later. and its a hassle ringing them
     
    #19
  20. Glesgabhoy67

    Glesgabhoy67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sky don't charge anything for the set up at least, unless you're in a high-flat.

    I was £60 for set up, but got it back because the advisor from the firm sky use incorrectly told me I would get it back if it was fitted to the wall rather than the roof
     
    #20

Share This Page