1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

WSBK confirms 24 riders for 2012

Discussion in 'Motorcycling' started by The Secret Ingredient, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. The Secret Ingredient

    The Secret Ingredient Well-Known Member

    Jan 25, 2011
    Likes Received:
    The provisional entry list for the 2012 World Superbike Championship has been revealed with 24 entrants confirmed, but no place for series favourite Noriyuki Haga.

    With 23 riders confirmed prior to the list being released, there were few notable surprises, the only unexpected addition coming from Pro Ride, who are down to enter a Honda CBR1000RR for former Moto2 rider Raffaele De Rosa.

    The list also confirms that champion Carlos Checa will not race with the coveted 'No.1', the Spaniard choosing to retain his usual 'No.7'.

    Perhaps the biggest revelation, however, is the omission of 43-time race winner and fan favourite Haga, whose options with just over a month before the start of the 2012 season appear to be dwindling. The Japanese rider has maintained a very low profile over the winter, with rumours placing him on a Ducati in WSBK, but also teams in both Britain and Japan, while retirement has also been hinted.

    For the time being, however, Haga, who was eighth overall with PATA Aprilia last season, will not ride in the 2012 World Superbike Championship.

    World Superbike 2012 entry list

    3. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4
    4. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Honda WSBK CBR1000RR
    7. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1098R
    17. Joan Lascorz ESP Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
    19. Chaz Davies GBR ParkinGO Aprilia RSV-4
    21. John Hopkins USA Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
    33. Marco Melandri ITA BMW Motorrad S1000RR
    34. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Ducati 1098R
    35. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Pro Ride Honda CBR1000RR
    36. Leandro Mercado ARG Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
    44. David Salom ESP Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
    50. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R
    58. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV-4
    59. Niccolo Canepa ITA Ducati Roma 1098R
    65. Jonathan Rea GBR Honda WSBK CBR1000RR
    66. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R
    78. Lorenzo Zanetti ITA PATA Ducati 1098R
    84. Michel Fabrizio ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR
    86. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia Goldbet S1000RR
    91. Leon Haslam GBR BMW Motorrad S1000RR
    96. Jakub Smrz CZE Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R
    121. Maxime Berger FRA Liberty Effenbert Ducati 1098R
    TBA. Leon Camier GBR Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
    TBA. Mark Aitchison AUS Grillini Progea BMW S1000RR
  2. CaptainHook

    CaptainHook Member

    Sep 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    it'll be interesting to see how Eugene Laverty gets on with the Aprilia and Melandri on the bmw heh
  3. Fragzie

    Fragzie New Member

    Feb 4, 2011
    Likes Received:
    Good to see Marco, Max, and Carlos up there together after the first two races. Good show from a few of the crock riders getting into the points aswell. Nice to see 'Nitro' in BSB.

Share This Page