1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

OT how badly have you been treated at work

Discussion in 'Newcastle United' started by pauljohnhutch, Oct 14, 2016.

1. pauljohnhutch

pauljohnhutch Well-Known Member

I'm an engineer ,recently I got called out to a job at 2 am ,I finished at 1130 am I worked on a chiller on a food line, every hour the line was off the company were loosing a grand,I know the company I work for will have charged a fortune, phoned the office told them I was knackered and I needed the afternoon off .I was told if I wanted the afternoon off I had to take a half day holiday,I also know if I had of just took the afternoon off ,4 hours overtime would have been moved over to make up my 40 hours, there by costing me 6 hours as overtime is time and a half or double .
    there have been other incidents but this is the final straw

Captainchaos. likes this.
  2. Captainchaos.

Captainchaos. Well-Known Member

I tell my employer what I'm going to do and if they don't listen I say

" ok well it pains me to have to say this, however we can either have it my way or I'm not doing any overtime , not going to do the job well as you know I do and I'm going to stroll through my days until I get the hell out of here ".

Make it clear to them that this job isn't important to you, that you will easily find a better job and that you're a human being!

Nobody knows why they are here, but I'll tell you one thing it wasn't to run around aftet some jump umped Alan sugar wannabe little tossers that think they have the right to control you

No **** I did it last week actually

They folded

Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
  3. Darren Peacock’s Ponytail

Darren Peacock’s Ponytail Well-Known Member

I'm a teacher, what is paid overtime?

I do 12 hour days 5 days a week, plus about 10 hours over the weekend.

Oh, and during my day, I get no breaks - if I am lucky I get to nip to the loo.